A Tortilla To Make Him Happy – Enchiladas Verdes

December 30, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’ve had many nights where I’ve stood in the kitchen, cooking away, ever-so-hopeful my husband would love my food as I try some new recipe. Usually he’s very happy with what I make and even goes for seconds if its a good night, but I’ve come to learn, he’ll never enjoy anything quite as much as a meal that involves a tortilla. I’ll never forget, one night I got home late and had nothing to make so I quickly fried some eggs, heated a can of black beans, and put it all on a tortilla with salsa and sour cream – to say he liked it was the understatement of the year and it was so simple - all I had to do was basically fry an egg! This is because he’s from Guatemala and tortillas are a central part of their cuisine. Many breakfasts and dinners consist of tortillas and beans so I think it is comforting to him and reminds him of home.

A few nights ago I made Chicken Noodle Soup which sadly didn’t turn out quite as I had expected. When I was at the market getting my ingredients I’d decided I’d make Enchiladas Verdes with the leftover chicken – you could even just buy a rotisserie chicken and it would work perfect here, or leftover roasted chicken. I’ve only made enchiladas a few times. Enchiladas Verdes are my husband’s favorite Mexican food and he always orders it when we go to a Mexican restaurant. I’m happy to report – tonight they were a huge success! He even claimed it was probably the best dinner I’ve ever made him! Not only did he go back for seconds, he went
back for thirds, a testament that he was being sincere with his compliments. I’m very happy with how these enchiladas turned
out.

To start, I heated the corn tortillas in the oven as it pre-heated. You definitely don’t want to skip this step as it makes them much easier to work with. I sautéed the green peppers and onions with spices for some added flavor but honestly I think the majority of the flavor came from the sauce so next time I may just skip that part and see if there is a difference. I used Pace Salsa Verde sauce this time and I’ve used Publix’s version before which is also very good. Making Salsa Verde can be tricky as it can be hard to find good tomatillos - I’ve always been happy with the pre-made versions and it makes it a quick and easy meal. Sauté the veggies until tender and then add the already cooked chicken with some chicken stock and cook until heated through. Last add a bit of the salsa to the mix.

Assemble the enchiladas by filling the center of the tortilla with the filling and top with a bit of shredded mozzarella before rolling up the sides. Then place the enchilada seam side down into a pan that has been coated with the sauce on the bottom. Top the enchiladas with the remaining sauce and some mozzarella and bake until heated and cheese is melted.

To serve, top with chopped onion, green pepper, cilantro and sour cream (if you like, I personally like it without the sour cream). The resulting enchiladas have a good spice and flavor with a nice crunch from the fresh veggies.

Enchiladas Verdes
Yields 8 enchiladas

Ingredients:
8 corn tortillas
Vegetable or Olive Oil
1 clove garlic
1/2 yellow onion
1/4 large green bell pepper
Several dashes of oregano, cumin, and coriander
2 cups shredded cooked chicken
1/3 cup chicken stock
1 16 oz jar Salsa Verde
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1 lime plus wedges to serve
1 bunch cilantro
Sour cream

To Make:

  1. 1. Preheat oven to 350° and warm corn tortillas
  2. Coat fry pan with vegetable oil or olive oil and sauté 1minced garlic clove with veggies (reserve some to top enchiladas with) and spices until tender
  3. Add cooked chicken and chicken stock and heat through
  4. Add some Salsa Verde, squeeze of lime juice, and fresh chopped cilantro to the chicken mixture and stir
  5. Coat the bottom of your baking dish with some Salsa Verde
  6. Fill warmed tortilla with chicken mixture and add a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese
  7. Roll sides to center and place seam-side down in the pan and continue with remaining tortillas
  8. Spoon Salsa Verde over tortillas ensuring tortillas are coated with a thin layer and top with a sprinkling of mozzarella
  9. Cook until enchiladas are fully heated and cheese is melted – approx 10-15 minutes
  10. Serve enchilada with fresh chopped onion, green pepper, sour cream, and wedge of lime
Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Tortilla To Make Him Happy – Enchiladas Verdes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Tortilla To Make Him Happy – Enchiladas Verdes at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

