Traveling Vegan

July 22, 2011 § 4 Comments

Well this week was the ultimate test to my 30 day vegan challenge. I lucked out and had no travel since starting this so I had pretty good control over my food options. Traveling is whole different story though. No refrigerator stocked full of fruits and veggies, no coconut milk creamer to cut the black coffee, no vegan ice cream to satisfy sweet cravings…but in the end it all worked out well – in fact, it worked out great. I had no shortage of food this week. Granted it all wasn’t super healthy but for being a vegan on the road I fared quite well.

In the mornings I was able to have oatmeal with fruit. The black coffee wasn’t the easiest but it was better than the alternative – falling asleep during my presentations. I brought my team a delicious cake full of yummy frosting and resisted taking even a single bite. They assured me no one would know and tried their hardest to get me to celebrate with them but I held strong.

For lunches I fared well too. I was able to snag some veggie enchiladas without cheese at a really good Mexican joint. I got the Mediterranean Veggie sandwich at Panera without feta which is so good and I get all the time even off this diet. And yesterday surprisingly at the airport no less I managed to eat quite well at Friday’s with a new fruity salad loaded with mango, avocado, and peppers.

Dinners were even more exciting! I was especially nervous about this as I knew I’d be with a group and didn’t want to be a complete pain. But there was no need for worrying as both places had great options.

The first night we went to a little Colombian restaurant. Luckily they had a vegetarian plate full of plantains, yucca, rice, beans, and arepas. Now, this was probably a starch overload but it was good! I didn’t touch the beans as I wasn’t confident they were free of chicken stock so I focused on everything else. The delicious salsas they served on the side made everything exciting.

The last night we went to this awesome little restaurant, Dive Coastal Cuisine. It was soooo good and cute! I definitely will return there after my challenge. But in the mean time there was so much for a vegan to choose I could barely decide. We started with delicious dips – I was able to partake in the white bean hummus and tomoto garlic ones. I had a veggie wrap for my entrée which came with a fabulous pesto that gave it tons of added flavor. And there was an amazing coconut rice that I could barely resist. Given my starch intake in the last few days though I limited it to just a few bites.

So there you have it, success as a traveling vegan. Who knew.

Update: See how my 30-day vegan challenge ended and see how I’ve done traveling since then. 

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to Traveling Vegan

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Traveling Vegan at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

