Hearty Vegan Chili – Healthy Game Day Food

February 3, 2012 § 4 Comments

vegan, vegetarian, dairy free

A year ago I posted a chicken wing recipe for the superbowl. My how things have changed!

I’ve never made chili. To be honest, I’ve never liked chili. I was never a big beef eater so a meaty bowl of beef and beans was not on my to-do list. Becoming vegan has made me have a new appreciation for beans too. I’ve really tried to explore new ways of eating and cooking beans, expanding my palate. Everyone talks about how easy chili is to make, so this week I figured I’d give it a try. It was one of those long work days and I was craving an easy, healthy, and warming bowl of yumminess. Boy did I find it! This recipe makes a lighter chili focused on the tomatoes and beans and finishes with a nice heat from the tabasco.

What I love about soups is that you don’t need a hard fast recipe. You can experiment or work with what you’ve got on hand.  You can definitely add more beans or other veggies depending on your tastes. If you like spicy, go for it with the tobasco. If you’re not sure, add it gradually.

vegetarian chili, vegetable and bean soup, recipe, superbowl food, party food

Hearty Vegan Chili 
Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 can white beans, rinsed well – I used Navy beans
  • 1/2 can 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup vegetable stock, optional
  • 1 can 14 oz. diced tomatoes – I used diced tomatoes with onions and garlic but you could use fire roasted, plain, basil, whatever you like
  • 1/2 green pepper, diced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • several dashes of tobasco to taste

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a large saute/stock pan over medium heat. Add 1/2 the onion, garlic, and carrots and cook several minutes until onions are tender. Add cumin, chili, and bay leaf and cook another few minutes.
  2. Turn heat to high and add rinsed white beans, crushed tomatoes, and diced tomatoes. Add vegetable stock if desired for a more “soupy” chili. Reduce to low-medium once boiling.
  3. Cook another 10-15 minutes to allow flavors to develop. Add several dashes of tobasco depending on taste. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Serve with remaining minced onion, green pepper, and optional extra dash of tobasco.
Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to Hearty Vegan Chili – Healthy Game Day Food

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hearty Vegan Chili – Healthy Game Day Food at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

