Buck Trends: aka Ditch the Fad Diets!

July 10, 2012 § 1 Comment

Today is day 2 of the 101 days of blogging challenge and our topic is bucking trends. “Just because it’s popular doesn’t mean it’s smart or good for you.” Amen! Remember the grapefruit diet? Or worse, Atkins. Yuck. How either of these can be good for you is beyond me.

Somehow I missed the diet bug. It fascinates me that I was able to do this when there seems to be a new diet fad every year and so many people are obsessed with losing weight and getting fit. I guess I’m fortunate that I grew up in a household where dieting wasn’t a concern. My dad was very healthy – always out walking, biking, and going to the gym every morning. My mom raised my sister and I on home cooking. We never went through a drive-thru growing up and nothing ever came from a freezer (which presented its own challenges as I learned to cook). They both always told me I was beautiful so I really never felt the need to watch my calories – plus, blessed with a good metabolism, I was a size 4 until about 21. I could eat anything and stay slim. However at 5’8″ this might have been too thin – and I was sick all the time. It seemed I caught any flu or cold within a 30-mile radius.

Fast forward to today – I’m still relatively lean. I’m no longer the size 4 I once loved, but a size 8 (slowly approaching a size 6, woo hoo!) No matter how bad I want to be a size 6 though – I’m just not a calorie counter or fad dieter. Counting out my meals and feeling guilty for an indulgence is no way I want to live. I’d much rather eat a whole-foods plant based diet and not need to count calories. (Oh and by the way, I don’t get sick anymore.)

I lost 10 pounds in the first few months when transitioning to a vegan diet. Some of that has come back (I’ve just got to stop eating potato chips!) but most has stayed off. After my dad’s death, I’m realizing more than ever, I need to get to the gym. No more excuses now that heart disease is something I need to be concerned about.

In learning about plant based diets I’ve heard and read so many success stories. 10 pounds is nothing compared to most of them. So I encourage you to STOP with the fad dieting. Let’s start a new trend of grateful, unapologetic eating with plates full of nutritious goodies. Would you be willing to join me and stop the calorie counting and instead feed your body with wholesome, nourishing foods that uplift your mind, body, and spirit? The weight falling off will just be a bonus.

What trends do you think need to go?

If you want to join in on the 101 days of blogging your way to revolutionary health, click here.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Buck Trends: aka Ditch the Fad Diets!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Buck Trends: aka Ditch the Fad Diets! at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

