Rage Against the Machine

July 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

It’s day 3 of our 101 days of blogging challenge and today we’re talking about rebellion and raging against the “machine”. The machine represents the norm, the status quo. Which in the majority of examples is the standard american diet – or SAD diet. And what a sad, sad diet it is. Full of high fat meats and dairy, sugars and processed junk, sugary sodas, and veggie imposters like tomato sauce (c’mon, really?). That last one got me really angry recently. The thought that schools count tomato sauce as a veggie made me want to flip. And I don’t even have kids. I can only imagine how high strung I”ll be over food the day that comes.

Raging against the machine is “using your healthy frustration about the unhealthy status quo to spark creativity and determination.”

I’m a rager every day…

each morning when I make my unconventional smoothie

each time I stand at the stove…

each time I choose raw

each time I eat out and say, “hold the dairy“.

Because each time I decide to fill my body and soul with nutritious meals, I defy convention and the status quo and end up with something beautiful – both on my plate and in my belly.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rage Against the Machine at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

