Celebrating What’s Good and Losing the Self Criticism

July 15, 2012 § 2 Comments

Well, so much for my 101 days of blogging. Three posts in and I was making such strides only to let it fall by the wayside as today should be day 7. I do have a mighty good excuse though. This guy is part of it:

Isn’t he cute? I know, I could hardly keep my hands off him. Two of my closest friends from college, Rachel and Sally (who this little guy belongs to), came in town for the weekend. We enjoyed all sorts of fun – one of the highlights being lounging at our college pool. Ironically enough, the three of us never laid out in college. We were all way too self conscious to be caught dead laying by the pool in a bikini. What were we thinking? We were in our prime! Three beautiful babes. Hah, leave it to us to visit our college pool for the first time, several pounds heavier, and a baby in tow! It was a great experience.

I feel bad for my younger self that I couldn’t relax and have more fun back in school. I was 5’8″, 120 pounds, and a size 4 for crying out loud. And yet I was totally insecure about my body. I always wanted to be thinner, tanner, blonder, prettier, stronger, you name it. It makes me really sad that I let all these things get in the way of spending countless weekends at that pool many years ago and enjoying the fun that we did on Saturday. I think we all regretted it and we enjoyed seizing this opportunity with our far more grown up perspectives.

Today’s revolutionary act is “Celebrate What’s Good: Look for signs of progress (beyond pounds lost) and rejoice when you find them. Give yourself a pat on the back every time you make your health a priority.”

I think a healthy body image plays a critical role in leading a healthy life. Even this weekend I was being too self critical, disliking myself in pictures. Why are we so harsh on ourselves? Truth is, despite the years since college, I can still be very self critical. My friend stopped me and said “You are so hard on yourself, stop it!” That’s what friends are for – to point out the roadblocks and make you better, and boy am I thankful for that. So, I’m celebrating wonderful friends and moving towards being less judgmental – especially with my body image. Every day we look in the mirror, we should see someone beautiful. That is progress. That is something good to celebrate. In honor of that, I’m posting myself in a bikini! I normally wouldn’t and would critique this photo endlessly, but I’m forcing myself to realize the woman here is beautiful and it deserves posting in honor of this revolutionary act.

I hope Sarah doesn’t mind that I’m taking the liberties to do her 101 days of blogging as a cumulative effort rather than a consecutive 101 days given my fun weekend. I’ll do my best to keep pace, but I feel these 101 revolutionary ways to be healthy are so important that I don’t want to miss a single one!

Now for a little exercise, go put on a bikini and try to enjoy some judgement free sunbathing 🙂 It does a body good.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Celebrating What’s Good and Losing the Self Criticism

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Celebrating What’s Good and Losing the Self Criticism at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

