A Smoothie A Day Keeps The Doctor Away

July 19, 2012 § 5 Comments

vegan, chia, maca, raw cacao

Today’s 9th act of the 101 revolutionary ways to be healthy is “Safegaurd Your Juju: Don’t let yourself get run down, depressed, negative or reactive. That’s when immunity drops, inflammation rages, and unhealthy tendencies strike.”

I was reminded of this last week. Grief has a vengeance. Just when you think things are starting to get better (note that better is relative) grief rears its ugly horns.

I was on the road for meetings. I’ve come to welcome trips these past few months. They provide me a good distraction to my personal life and give me that extra bit of motivation I need. But last week, something went wrong. I remember last year when my friend died someone telling me to deal with the grief head on, that these things have a way of showing up unexpectedly. Last week I was reminded of this.

Day 1 was great. Meetings went great. Everything was good.

Day 2 started great. But slowly throughout the day I could feel myself getting run down. I went to dinner with friends and while my spirits were lifted, I got back to the hotel only to cry myself to sleep. The reality that my dad is truly gone sinks in a little more every day. And for some reason it hit me last Wednesday as I sat in that hotel room by myself.

Thursday morning I couldn’t move. Literally. I had no strength. Just getting dressed was an ordeal. I had meetings starting early. It seemed to take so much effort just to speak a few words. I was emotionally drained. I haven’t felt that bad physically in a long time. I left my meetings early to try and catch an earlier flight but I wasn’t so lucky with the flight gods and had to sit at the airport for hours, waiting. Eventually I broke down. Crying in the airport. A very crowded airport I should add. I didn’t even care.

Once home, I was sure I was sick. Mono was apparently going around at the office. I began stressing about everything I was going to have to rearrange at work if I was out. But I was pleased to find that after a night of sleep in my own bed, next to my husband and my dog, I was better. It was a reminder to me how extreme sadness can truly effect your health.

Being healthy isn’t limited to just what you eat and how many times you exercise. You need to safeguard your juju – your total health of mind, body, and spirit.

Each morning, I make a point to defend my juju with a smoothie. I used to make this berry power smoothie a lot but have since stopped adding the oatmeal and nut butter. Basically I just throw in frozen berries, water, almond milk, chia seeds, maca, raw cacao, and bee pollen (note there is some controversy over whether or not bee pollen is vegan).

Every day I make this smoothie, my day seems to be a bit brighter – I honestly miss it when I’m on the road. It’s my way of affirming to myself that I take my health, and my juju, seriously.

Cheers.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to A Smoothie A Day Keeps The Doctor Away

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Smoothie A Day Keeps The Doctor Away at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

