Be Proactive

July 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

I wrote the other day about protecting your juju and today’s revolutionary act in the 101 days of blogging challenge is similar.

“Be proactive: If you feel a cold, flu or nasty headache coming on, take evasive maneuvers. Rest. Refuel. Reconnect. Rebuild your immunity and vitality. There’s no heroism in ignoring your body’s needs.”

I’ve always been pretty good about being proactive when it comes to being sick. Having spent much of my childhood and teen years sick, I learned to take precautionary measures. However, like many, this involved lots and lots of antibiotics to the point that I’m pretty sure my body couldn’t fight much on its own.

Since going vegan a year ago, I really haven’t been sick. I got sick once the week my dad died which I’m sure was due to stress. I’ve felt the stress lately effect my health and have been feeling really run down. I’ve been trying to keep today’s wise words top of mind and take a few extra moments for myself: sleep a bit longer, chill out, relax. It’s important to take a few moments and decompress. Doing so is as important as eating healthy and exercising, but often we don’t focus as much on relaxing as we do what we eat and how many crunches we’ve done.

Remember to take all aspects of your health seriously – not just calories in and out but the intangibles too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Be Proactive at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

