Find Your Why

July 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

As much as I want to go to bed right now, I can’t fall another day behind in the 101 days of blogging challenge! So here I am ready to talk about “Leverage Your Big Why’s: Know the specific reasons your health matters to you. Write them down where you’ll see them daily.” Sadly, this will be a quick post as it is near and dear to my heart.

Nine months ago I lost my best friend to breast cancer. Erin was the most beautiful woman I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. She was full of life. Vibrant, vivacious, loving, kind. She left this world all too early at just 34 years of age. She should have had a lifetime of loving and living.

Eighty days ago, my father literally dropped dead at 61 years. Something I never thought could possibly happen. He died immediately of a massive heart attack, just 15 minutes after delivering a speech to hundreds of people. He didn’t have a single warning sign. The first sign of heart disease was death.

These are my why’s. These are the reasons I want to be healthy. I don’t even need to write them down because they weigh so heavily on my heart.

I want to live a full life. To be active and able to do whatever it is I want to do. To explore the world. To hike, to travel, to sail, to see and to dream.

To be there for my loved ones. To be there for my mom and sister, to watch my husband grow old over many many years, to one day raise children and watch their lives evolve before me.

Because I refuse to be another statistic. I refuse to put my family through the pain of disease. I refuse to leave this world before I’m done. That is why I want to be healthy. That is what motivates me. That is what reminds me to make today count.

Miss you daddy.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Find Your Why

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Find Your Why at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

