Earthlings

October 9, 2012 § 5 Comments

Today is Day 9 of Vegan MOFO. This whole blogging almost every day when I can’t cook is getting challenging. Usually I’d be whipping up recipes and opening my cookbooks but alas, the kitchen is still my enemy.

So today I figured we’d talk about a movie that made such an impact on me and really made me commit to a vegan diet, and continue to commit to one – Earthlings. I was flipping through my first Veg News I’d ever purchased and there was an interview in it. Now I wish I’d kept that version so I could remember who the interview was with.  The woman they were interviewing said she became a vegan after watching Earthlings. The interviewer said “oh yeah, that’ll do it.” And I thought, I have to see what they mean – what is so compelling that just saying Earthlings makes anyone understand why you went vegan?

I found it on Netflix and my husband and I settled down to watch it. I think it was a Saturday. What followed was complete horror. There is just no other way to describe it. I’ve heard of people that can’t even make it through the first ten minutes – a friend of mine posted so on Facebook when I said I had watched it – and she was vegan!

What followed was 108 minutes of documented examples of animal torture, so brutal that over a year later I still can’t get some of the images out of my mind. I honestly was horrified for about a month – eagerly researching what I’d just learned. The sad thing was this torture wasn’t one-off cases. Sadly, they were the norm. There were several times that all I could do was sit with the pillow over my face waiting for my husband to tell me when that scene was over.

Now for those of you who haven’t seen it, I don’t say all this to scare you. Earthlings is incredibly powerful and showcases the amazing planet we live in. You will be spellbound by the wonder of animals and nature by the end – and yes, you will be saddened that some could have so much pain in their hearts that they could inflict such pain on helpless animals.

The truth is, we don’t like to face the fact that we eat animals. We don’t like to realize what it means. But how long can one really live in denial? Earthlings opens your eyes to the reality of what it means to subject animals for any purpose – food, clothing, science, etc. It’s incredibly powerful and I’d recommend it to anyone that wants to understand how this complex dynamic works.

Head on over to Vegan MOFO to learn more and check out my favorite recipes along the way here.

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to Earthlings

  • Cara says:

    I am one of those people that do nor manage to watch the whole film in one piece. When I made my first attempt I had already been a vegan for a few years and it just did not make any sense to me why I should torture me by watching this. I promised myself to watch the whole movie if I ever want to go non-veg again. I think that’s a fair deal.

  • Debbie says:

    I couldn’t watch it all the way through but I know that I need to take that step. I try to remind myself that these animals have no voice, no witness to what they suffer and the very least I can do is speak for them when I can. I believe that to bear witness to the suffering they endure makes my ability to speak for them stronger. However, I can only take so much at one time. Sometimes the suffering is just so overwhelming. I know that sounds petty compared to the horror they live and maybe I should be stronger but for today I am doing the best I can. 😦 None of this is easy.

    • Vanessa says:

      It doesn’t sound petty at all Debbie. That movie is the hardest thing I’ve ever watched. Take your time with it – and you are doing more than your part already!

  • […] The movie that will surely make you want to be vegan […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Earthlings at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

