Two Years and Raw Strawberry Pie

July 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

dairy-free strawberry pie

Two years ago, on July 3rd 2011, I took the plunge and decided to try a 30 day vegan challenge. It probably wasn’t the brightest idea to start the day before July 4th as I was headed to a party. With every non-vegan dish that arrived, my mom kept saying, “Can’t you go vegan tomorrow?” But after already successfully completing a full day, I stuck with it and surprisingly it has turned into such an exciting journey. I truly believe this diet not only nourishes my body but my spirit as well. Preparing and eating cruelty-free meals is truly a rewarding experience and has become an amazing passion.

Going vegan has done so much for me and my health. Not only do I rarely have that afternoon slump anymore (OK, becoming a new mom was hard and I’ll admit I felt “slumpy” often) but I’ve learned to eat, and importantly love, so many foods that I never touched before! Mushrooms, eggplant, avocados, and beans are just a few of the foods that you’d previously never find in my kitchen and I now can’t get enough of. Plus, finding ways to create old favorites in new ways never loses its appeal.

Taking the vegan plunge also pushed me to do more research and I’ve become such a natural food junkie – eager to learn more about where my food comes from and how it is grown – something I really never thought about before. Plus over the last two years I’ve learned so much about food and its role on health that there is no turning back for me. I’m so happy with the decisions I’ve made and how they’ve impacted those around me.

Here’s some links if you’re thinking of going vegan:

And last, here’s a link for the awesome raw vegan strawberry pie we enjoyed this fourth of July. So simple to make and satisfying. I was shocked at how quick and easy it was. Plus, this crust is going to be my new go-to! This was a great addition to our July 4th celebration and a perfect two-year celebration treat!

 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Two Years and Raw Strawberry Pie at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

