Maple Blueberry Oatmeal

March 30, 2014 § Leave a comment

20140330-113636.jpg

I didn’t always love oatmeal. In fact, I didn’t even like it until a fee years ago. I was working 12+ hour days and had little time for anything, let alone breakfast. But as a big breakfast eater, I needed something. So I started eating those awful oatmeal packs. I say awful because they are super processed with milk and sugar. But they did help me learn to like my morning oats so I guess I can’t fault them too much.

When I started feeding my daughter I read you may have to offer a food 20x before they like it!

I’ve found this to be true. Just because she doesn’t like something doesn’t mean I don’t offer it. And this is how I felt about oatmeal. I despised my little oatmeal packages, until surprisingly I didn’t! More and more I needed and wanted my morning oats.

Nowadays I prefer steel cut oats. Oh man, if you don’t like oatmeal try steel cut. They are nutty and hearty. Here’s how I make mine:

Simmer steel cut oats with 3 parts water, 1 part almond milk and a little vanilla for about 30 min, or until done.

Recently I’ve been drizzling a little maple syrup on top which is so yummy!

People always turn to honey or sugar but real maple syrup lends a subtle deeply sweet flavor.

Top with fruit, nuts, cinnamon and you’ve got yourself a wonderful, nutritious breakfast!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maple Blueberry Oatmeal at Cooking Con Sal.

meta

